

Quick Resource Guide: Become a Conservator

How to

California Court Self-Help Page: Helping a person with an impairment or disability: https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/helping-person-impairment-or-disability

Sacramento County Law Library: Conservatorship of an adult – person and estate https://saclaw.org/legal-topic/conservatorship-person-and-financial/

The websites above explain the process, give definition to terms, and refer you to the correct forms needed to file with the court.

Books

- California conservatorship practice,
 KFC112 .C34 2005, Shelf 109B. This title is also available through OnLaw on the library's research computers.
- California Judges Benchguides: Probate and Conservatorship, KFC112.C36, Shelf 108B
- Handbook for Conservators
 KFC112 .Z9 C35 2016, Shelf 108B. This title is also available as an eBook (see below).

eBooks

- Handbook for Conservators: http://courts.ca.gov/documents/handbook.pdf
- Judges' Benchguide on Conservatorship: Appointment and Powers of Conservator http://www2.courtinfo.ca.gov/protem/pubs/bg300.pdf
- Judges' Benchguide on Conservatorship Proceedings: http://www2.courtinfo.ca.gov/protem/pubs/bg301.pdf

Forms

- Conservatorship Court Forms: https://www.courts.ca.gov/1302.htm
- Alameda County Local Conservatorship Forms:
 http://www.alameda.courts.ca.gov/Pages.aspx/Probate-and-Court-Investigator-s-Forms

Free Legal Help

Alameda County Court Self-Help Center

https://www.alameda.courts.ca.gov/self-help

Contact the SHC via phone or chat to ask a questions, make an appointment, or register for a workshop. The Self-Help Center does not take walk-in patrons, but you may make an appointment to talk to someone in person.

LiveChat - Monday-Thursday, 9AM-12PM

- Access via "Need Help" chat widget: https://www.alameda.courts.ca.gov/self-help
- Login early. They may stop taking chats before the stated hours once reaching capacity.

Phones

- Call: (510) 272-1393, Mon-Thurs, 2PM-4PM
- Voicemails can only be left during phone hours; Messages are returned within 5 business days.

Workshops

Limited Conservatorship Workshop offered bimonthly.

Flyer: https://www.alameda.courts.ca.gov/system/files/forms-and-filings/limited-conservatorship-and-guardianship-flyer 04232024 0.pdf

Conservatorship Accounting Workshop, Zoom (bi-monthly):

http://www.cccpllib.org/Court%20Accounting25.pdf

Community Legal Assistance Saturday Program (CLASP)

<u>CLASP offers a monthly, free clinic open to the public</u>. Volunteer attorneys meet with individuals for 15-20 minute consultations.

Hire an Attorney

BALI- Bay Area Legal Incubator

125 12th St. Oakland, CA Mezzanine Level

Affordable legal services. Some attorneys offer sliding scale fees. In-take form available on website, and you can also read the profiles and get contact information for the BALI attorneys.

https://www.bayarealegalincubator.org/

ACBA Lawyer Referral Service- (510) 302-2222 x4

\$40.00 for attorney referral and 30-minute consultation. Attorneys charge \$200 – 400/hour for services. Can also self-book consultations online: https://www.acbanet.org/need-a-lawyer/

California State Bar

The <u>California State Bar</u> lists basic information about all attorneys registered to practice law in the state of California. In addition, the site also provides an <u>attorney referral service</u> for the public to find qualified attorneys in their county. https://www.calbar.ca.gov/Public